Asante Kotoko moved a step closer to reclaiming the Premier League title with a 2-0 victory over Medeama sporting club

Prosper Ogum’s side took control before halftime at Akoon Park thanks to goals from Andrews Appau and Franck Mbella Etouga.

Kotoko’s stroll against Medeama SC was the ideal way to recover from the painful home defeat we suffered against Berekum Chelsea last week at Babayara Sports stadium.

The Berries had scored in the final minutes to claim maximum points leaving Ogum to lament the “players can’t continue to put the supporters to such a sorrowful condition” and promised his players to get over the loss as soon as possible 

But Kotoko can exorcise those home demons by winning a first Ghana League title in eight years and this was a step in the right direction.

In the 23rd minute, Andrews Appau nodded an Imoro Ibrahim corner from close-range to put the Porcupine Warriors into the lead. 

in the 45th minute, Mbella was played through by Mudasiru Salifu after Samuel Boateng showed strength to protect the ball and located Mudasiru at the edge of the penalty box of Medeama, the Cameroonian showed why he is the best striker in the league, by rounding the goalie and firing the ball at the top right corner with his left foot to put the score at 2-0. 

With a minute to end the half, our captain was shown his marching orders after he received a second yellow card for a tackle on our opponent. 

We played the second half with 10 men, and as it’s made of every champion, we showed resilient and kept our shape to prevent Medeama from coming back into the game. 

The center referee blew his whistle to end the game. 

We could win the league should Hearts of oak lose against Karela United on Monday morning. 

What’s next?

The team will travel to Obuasi ahead of our attempt to get the three points when we face Ashgold SC.  The match is on Thursday with a 3 pm kick-off. 

Asante Kotoko (4:3:3) Danlad; Appau, Agyemang, Imoro, Nettey, Boadu, Mudasiru, Adomako (Keyekeh), Mbella (Appiah), Boateng 

Unused subs: Kwame Baah, Dickson Afoakwa, Mfegue Rodriguez, Fabio Gama, Sarfo Taylor